Driving after having a couple of drinks may not seem like a big deal. Especially given how these impaired decisions are further reinforced by a false sense of confidence associated with alcohol and drug usage.
Other than drunk driving accident victims sustaining debilitating physical injuries, they also have to deal with the extra financial burden of exorbitant medical costs and the inability to earn during recovery. You can remedy this injustice by taking appropriate legal action with a Winston Salem drunk driving accident lawyer.
Drunk drivers who cause auto collisions should be held responsible for the expenses of any injuries and losses incurred due to their negligence. Drunk driving is dangerous and can result in severe injuries or even death. DUI accidents are avoidable, but they continue to be a nuisance and a common cause of fatal car accidents in North Carolina.
It is very unfair and you shouldn’t have to bear the brunt of somebody else’s misgivings. If you have been the victim of a drunk driving accident, please call our Winston Salem personal injury lawyer at McIver Law Firm to arrange a no-cost and no-obligation initial consultation. Contact us at 336-727-9886 now!
Drunk Driving Statistics in NC
For over 25 years now, North Carolina Booze it and Lose it campaign has raised awareness of dangers associated with drunk driving, educated residents on its ramifications, and aided to remove millions of drunk drivers off the road. Sadly, despite these efforts, there seems to be no getting rid of this menace.
A report released by Responsibility.org revealed that there were 323 drunk driving fatalities in 2019. In the same year, there were also 11,639 driving under the influence arrests.
In North Carolina, most of the drunk driving incidents involve persons between the ages of 21 and 34 years old. Mostly, somebody will engage in drunk driving more than 80 times before finally getting pulled over for drunk driving. About 1.3% of North Carolinians have confessed to drunk driving in the last 30 days.
What Are the BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) Limits in NC?
If you are planning to drink and drive, it is essential to be aware of the regulations in your state and permissible limits. In North Carolina, the legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. This suggests that a driver operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or more is regarded to be legally drunk and can face DWI or DUI charges.
The BAC limit for commercial drivers in North Carolina is even lower; they have a BAC limit of 0.04%. Also, drivers under 21 years are not allowed to have any trace of alcohol content in their system.
What Do You Do After an Accident With a Drunk Driver?
Being involved in an accident can be extremely disorientating. It is important to understand the steps you should take following an accident. It will help you to stay calm, record the scene, and keep yourself and anyone else involved as safe as possible. These steps are as follows:
- Contact Police: Call law enforcement at the crash site immediately. They will assess the scene and record any relevant information in the police report. This will be integral if you want to bolster your legal claim.
- Tell the Police You Suspect the Driver is Drunk: Inform the police about the drunk driver. They will conduct a breathalyzer test to check the BAC level of the driver. This is very important to prove negligence.
- Record the Scene: Capture visual evidence of the scene including videos and/or photos.
- Keep an Eye on the Other Driver: Monitor the state of mind of the other driver and whether they can articulate themselves properly.
- Talk to Witnesses: If there are witnesses that saw the accident happening and later saw the drunk state of the driver, make sure to take their contact information.
- Contact a Drunk Driving Lawyer: Call a skilled Winston Salem drunk driving accident lawyer like ours at McIver Law Firm. We have experience handling drunk driving cases and will help you navigate legal proceedings.
What Damages Can You Recover from a Drunk Driving Accident Case?
If you have been the victim of a drunk driving accident, you qualify to pursue multiple damages. They include:
Examples of economic damages are medical expenses, repair costs, prescription, and any other expenses resulting from the accident. You can also include lost earnings and earning ability if you’re incapable of working.
Examples of non-economic damages include depression, anxiety, emotional distress or depreciation in your quality of life as a result of the drunk driving accident.
Examples of punitive damages are not automatically awarded, but if the driver is found to have acted egregiously and with intent, they will be given to punish the drunk driver.
Are There Time Limits on When I Can File a Claim?
The statute of limitations for victims of DUI accidents in North Carolina is 3 years following the accident date. You must file your claim within this period or risk voiding your case.
How Much Will a Winston Salem Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer Cost?
For personal injury claims like drunk driving accidents, you don’t have to pay any fees upfront. You will only pay when your drunk driving attorneys recoup the compensation you are owed for injuries and losses. This is called a contingency fee plan and is exactly what our Winston Salem drunk driving accident lawyer at McIver Law Firm offers.
Enlist An Experienced Winston Salem Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer Today!
If you have been the victim of a drunk driving accident, it is integral that you contact a skilled drunk driving accident attorney to assist you traverse the complicated legal system and help you recoup maximum compensation.